2018 Study Guide

Click here to download a PDF copy of the test.

Click here to download a PDF blank answer sheet.

Instructions: There are 100 True/False and Multiple Response questions. You are to mark your answer(s) to the questions on the answer sheet. There will be more than one correct answer for the Multiple Choice questions.

The number of corrects answers will be in parenthesis after the question for multiple choice questions.

1. The softballs used for a contest may be white or optic yellow, but the same color shall be used throughout the contest.
a. True
b. False

2. It is legal for the assistant coach or other team personnel to leave the dugout/bench area to record his/her players behind the backstop.
a. True
b. False

3. The use of electronic devices by team personnel on the playing field to transmit or record information pertaining to a player or team’s performance is legal.
a. True
b. False

4. The coach of the team at bat asks about the color of the pitcher’s glove. Optic yellow balls are being used in the game. What are your calls? (2)
a. The pitcher may use a white glove.
b. The pitcher may not wear a grey glove.
c. The pitcher may not wear a pink glov
d. The pitcher may wear a multicolored glove of approved colors.
e. The pitcher may not wear a batting glove under her regular glove.

5. In the second inning with Team B at bat and one out, it is discovered that the pitching distance is incorrec
What are your calls? (2)
a. The distance will be corrected at the start of the next full inning.
b. The pitching distance will be corrected immediately and the game will continue.
c. Once a game has been started, there will be no penalty if an incorrect pitching distance is discovered.
d. The game will be forfeited to the visiting team.
e. The game will continue with the incorrect distance.

6. Coaches argue with the umpires about whether the double-first base is mandatory. What are your calls? (2)
a. The double first base is mandatory.
b. The double first base is permitted by state association adoption.
c. The double first base may not be used.
d. The double first base may be used.

7. R1 occupies 1st base with no outs and B2 is batting with a 3-2 count. R1 breaks with the pitch as B2 lines a ball that strikes F1 in flight and pops in the air. F1 catches the deflected ball and fires to F3 at 1st base. What are your calls? (4)
a. B2 is out.
b. R1 is out.
c. The out on B2 occurred when F1 threw the ball to F3 standing on 1st base.
d. The out on B2 occurred when F1 caught the deflected ball.
e. The out on R1 is a force out.
f. The out on R1 is an appeal play.

8. It is a foul ball when: (4)
a. B1’s bounding ball last touches the ground completely in foul territory before bouncing over 3rd base to the outfield.
b. B1’s line drive passes over 1st base in flight but lands about a foot foul on the outfield side of the bag.
c. B1 bats a ball off the plate and the ball rebounds and strikes B1’s bat over fair territory while B1 is holding the bat while in legal batting position.
d. B1 bats the ball that deflects sharply and directly off F2’s chest protector and rebounds forward into the air and is caught in flight by a diving F1 in fair territory.
e. B1 hits a line drive that strikes the pitcher’s plate and deflects in the air to foul ground.
f. B1 hits an untouched ground ball that settles touching the 3rd base foul line between home and 3rd.

9. It is a fair ball when: (2)
a. An untouched batted ground ball rolls into foul territory and settles slightly over foul territory between home and 3rd, but the ball is not touching the foul line.
b. An untouched batted ground ball rolls and brushes the foul side of this single 1st base but no one plays the ball.
c. F5 standing completely in fair territory reaches over the foul line and touches a descending fly ball over foul ground and the ball drops to the ground.
d. F2 deflects B1’s foul fly ball to F3 in fair territory where F3 catches the ball.
e. B1 swings and nicks the ball that goes sharply and directly from her bat off F2’s helmet. The ball deflects into fair territory where it is caught by F1.
f. B1’s slow rolling untouched batted ball spins back to rest against the 8.5-inch side of the plate.

10. B1 smashes a long drive to deep center field. Racing at full speed, F8 contacts the collapsible outfield fence, which falls flat on the ground bending back and away from the base of the original position of the fence. The fence settles flat on the ground and beyond the original line of demarcation. F8 makes a catch while standing on the fence. What are your calls? (2)
a. That’s a legal catch.
b. B1 is out.
c. The ball is dead.
d. The ball is live.
e. B1 is credited with a home run.

11. The 3-foot running lane is a space defined by a line drawn 3 feet from and parallel to the first-base foul line starting halfway between home and first base and extending to first base in foul territory.
a. True
b. False

12. The umpire rules a catch and the batter is out if the left fielder catches a fly ball in the tip of the glove and it immediately pops out and lands on the ground.
a. True
b. False

13. Which of the following are appeal plays? (3)
a. R1, who left 1st base on a fly ball before it was caught, is doubled off of 1st when F6 throws to F3 standing on 1st base before R1 retouches her original base.
b. On a play at the plate, F2 dives and tags sliding R1, who slid by the plate without touching it.
c. When F2 formally requests help on B1’s check swing.
d. Batting out of order.
e. A defensive coach asks the calling umpire to get help after a no-catch call.

14. B1 hits a ground ball to F6. B1 beats F6’s throw to 1st base but she completely misses the bag by stepping over the base before F3 catches the ball on the bag. What are your calls? (2)
a. B1 is out because the ball got to the base before B1 touches it.
b. B1 is safe because she beat the throw to 1st base and an umpire never points out a missed base.
c. F3 could have made a legal appeal of the missed base before B1 returned to the base.
d. The umpire will make no call or signal.

15. R2 occupies 2nd base when B3 singles to center. F8 fires to the plate as R2 attempts to score. F2 misses the tag and sliding R2 misses the plate. What are your calls? (3)
a. The plate umpire will hesitate and then declared R2 out for missing the plate.
b. The plate umpire will hesitate slightly and call and signal that R2 is safe.
c. The plate umpire will not make a call until the play has concluded.
d. The plate umpire will make a safe signal and call, “No tag.”
e. It is an appeal play if F2 dives and tags R2 before she touches home plate.
f. It is a legal play and R2 is out if F2 tags R2 before she touches the plate.
g. If no appeal is made and R2 enters the dugout, the plate umpire will declare R2 out for abandoning her efforts to run the bases.

16. With R1 on 1st as B2 bats with a 1-1 count. B2 squares in the box and holds her bat in a bunting position within the strike zone as the pitch passes the plate low and in the dirt. What are you calls? (2)
a. The pitch is called a ball.
b. The pitch is called a strike.
c. The ball is dead.
d. For a strike to be called, B1 must move her bat toward the ball.
e. To take a pitch, the bat must be withdrawn and pulled back and away from the ball.

17. B1 hits a ground ball to F6. F6’s thrown ball is stopped by F3 when F3 covers the ball with the pocket of her glove facing down on top of the ball before B1 touches 1st base. What are your calls? (2)
a. That is considered a trapped ball and not a catch and B1 is safe at 1st base.
b. To call B1 out, F3 must raise her glove off the ground to show control before B1 touches 1st base.
c. To call B1 out, F3 must raise her glove off the ground to show control before or after B1 touches 1st base.
d. B1 is out providing the fielder demonstrates control of the ball by turning her glove or mitt upward with the ball inside, even if such control is shown after B1 touches 1st base.

18. F1 pitches as B1 hits with a 1-1 count. B1’s bat contacts the pitch and the ball goes directly to F2’s chest protector. The ball rebounds off the protector into the air where F1 catches the ball in fair territory. What are your calls? (3)
a. B1 is out the same as any other batted ball that is deflected from one fielder to another and is caught without touching the ground.
b. That’s a foul tip and the ball is live.
c. Only F2 may complete the act of catching the ball for a foul tip.
d. That’s a foul ball.
e. B1 continues at bat with a 1-1 count. f. B1 continues at bat with a 1-2 count.

19. An illegally batted ball occurs: (2)
a. Any time the batter hits the ball a second time in fair territory.
b. When a batter hits a foul or fair ball when at least one foot is completely outside the batter’s box when the ball is batted.
c. Only when a batter hits a fair ball while at least one foot is completely outside the batter’s box when the ball is batted.
d. When the batter bats a ball while her foot is touching the plate.
e. When the batter swings and misses and her backswing strikes the ball.

20. Which of these statements about an infield fly are correct? (3)
a. A bunted ball cannot be ruled an infield fly even when batted high into the air.
b. A line drive cannot properly be declared an infield fly.
c. It’s not an infield fly if an outfielder settles comfortably under the ball in the infield even if an infielder could have caught the ball.
d. The infield fly can be called with two outs.
e. Any runner is out if struck by a declared infield fly while on base.
f. Runners can tag up after declared infields fly the same as on any other fly ball.
g. The intent of the infield fly rule is to protect the defensive team and help them obtain outs on easy pop up flies.

21. A player who has been rendered apparently unconscious during the game may resume participation that day when cleared by an appropriate health-care professional.
a. True
b. False

22. Lineups become official after they have been exchanged, verified and then accepted by the plate umpire during the pregame conference.
a. True
b. False

23. Each team, when on defense, may be granted not more than three charged conferences without penalty during a seven-inning game.
a. True
b. False

24. During a defensive charged conference, the offensive team may meet provided the non-charged conference concludes when the charged conference ends or doesn’t delay the gam
a. True
b. False

25. The DP may be substituted for at any time by a legal substitute.
a. True
b. False

26. The DP may be substituted for at any time by the FLEX playing offense.
a. True
b. False

27. The head coach tenders the lineup card that includes the DP/FLEX to the plate umpire at the pregame conference. The lineup card is verified by the coach and is accepted by the plate umpire. Moments later and before the game starts, the coach wants to start the game with 9 players and not use the DP/FLEX in the first inning and wishes to retain the right to go back to 10 players later in the game. What are your calls? (2)
a. That change is illegal at the pregame conference once the coach verifies the lineups.
b. That change is only legal after the game starts.
c. The change is legal but the DP/FLEX is terminated for the remainder of the game.
d. The change is legal.
e. The DP/FLEX may be used later in the game.
f. Once a team goes to 9 players it may not return to 10 players.
g. Such a change is legal if both coaches agree.

28. With R2 on 2nd and one out, B3 enters the batter’s box with an altered bat. Before a pitch is made, the opposing coach informs the plate umpire that she believes B3’s bat has been altered. What are your calls? (2)
a. There is no penalty but the umpire shall remove the bat from the game.
b. B3 is not out unless she hits a fair or foul ball.
c. Because the bat was intentionally altered, the game is forfeited to the offended team.
d. B3 is declared out.
e. B3 is ejected from the game.
f. For a first offense a team warning is issued. For a subsequent offense, the player is restricted to the dugout.

29. Following a conference and trailing by two runs late in the game, speedy R2 from 3rd base and slow-footed R3 from 2nd base switch positions on the bases. What are your calls? (3)
a. Each runner is declared out immediately when discovered.
b. Each runner is declared out upon proper appeal. R2, R3 and the head coach are ejected.
c. The head coach is immediately ejected when discovered.
d. The head coach could be ejected if the act was deemed unsporting. If not, the coach could be restricted to the bench for the remainder of the game.
e. R2 and R3 are ejected immediately when discovered.
f. R2 and R3 could be ejected if the act was deemed unsporting by the umpire or issued a warning if the infraction is determined to be minor.
g. No specific rule provisions.

30. R1 from 1st is advancing on B2’s safe hit to right field. As R1 races toward 3rd, she deliberately removed her helmet and continues on to score. What are your calls? (3)
a. R1 is declared out.
b. The ball is liv
c. The ball is dead.
d. A team warning is issued.
e. For subsequent violations, the offender and head coach are restricted to the dugout/bench area.
f. The head coach for both teams is issued a warning.
g. For subsequent violations, the head coach is ejected and the offender is restricted to the

31. R1 slides into 2nd base on a double, but injures her ankle and is unable to continue the game. Team A has no available substitutes. What are your calls? (2)
a. The game is forfeited to team B if team A is unable to field nine players.
b. A team may play shorthanded unless a team member has been ejected from the game.
c. A team may play shorthanded for any reason.
d. R1 is declared out.
e. R1 is not out and the most recent batter not at a base may run for her.

32. An illegal pitch call always results in the batter being awarded a ball and all runners are awarded one base without liability to be put out.
a. True
b. False

33. Prior to pitching, the pitcher must take a position with the shoulders in line with first and third bases with the ball in the glove or pitching hand and with the hands separate
a. True
b. False

34. Either foot may be removed first when a pitcher is removing herself from the pitching position.
a. True
b. False

35. It is a dead ball when the ball slips from the pitcher’s hand during the backward motion of her delivery.
a. True
b. False

36. A quick pitch not swung at is ruled an illegal pitch.
a. True
b. False

37. Left-handed pitcher F1 stands with her left foot parallel to, completely on and within the boundaries of the pitcher’s plate. F1’s right foot is behind her left foot, completely on, within and parallel to the pitcher’s plate with both her shoulders facing the 1st base line. F1 brings her hands together and raises her right leg in a step directly toward home plate and delivers the pitch. What are your calls? (2)
a. That is an illegal pitch.
b. There is no requirement that F1’s shoulders must be in line with 1st and 3rd bases.
c. That’s a legal pitch.
d. The shoulders must be in line with 1st and 3rd bases.

38. F1 re-plants her pivot foot completely in front of the pitching plate and again pushes off toward home plate before releasing the pitch. What are your calls? (2)
a. The ball is immediately dead.
b. It is an illegal pitch.
c. That technique is known as a crow hop.
d. The pitch is legal if the pivot foot remains on the ground when the second push off is made.
e. That technique is known as a leap.

39. When does F1’s pitch technically begin? (2)
a. With the hands separated, the pitcher moves her hands to bring them together.
b. The instant the pitcher parts the hands after bringing them together.
c. When the pitcher makes any motion that is part of the windup after the hands have been brought together.
d. When the pitcher steps onto the pitching plate.

40. After the pitcher’s hands come together, she drops the ball at the start of her delivery. What are your calls? (3)
a. That is a no pitch.
b. A ball is awarded to the batter.
c. The ball is dead.
d. The ball is live.
e. Base runners may advance with the liability to be put out.
f. Baserunners may not advance.

41. The visiting coach asks about the home team’s pitcher’s feet in relation to the pitcher’s plate. What are your calls? (3)
a. Only one foot is required on the pitcher’s plate prior to delivery.
b. Two feet are required to be on or in contact with the pitcher’s plate prior to the delivery.
c. A backward step may be taken after the hands have been brought together.
d. A backward step may be taken before the hands have been brought together.
e. No backward step may be taken.
f. The backward step may end before or after the hands come together.

42. R1 is on 1st base with one out and a 1-1 count on B3. R1 breaks with the pitch as B3 swings and tips the ball sharply and directly into F2’s glove. R1 is safe at 2nd base. What are your calls? (4)
a. That’s a foul ball.
b. R1 must return to 1st base.
c. B3 continues to bat with a 1-2 count.
d. R1 will remain on 2nd base.
e. R1 may advance without tagging up.
f. A foul tip has occurred.

43. The ball is dead immediately when: (4)
a. While running to 1st, B1 stops to delay or avoid a tag.
b. The batter interferes with the catcher by stepping out of the batter’s box.
c. A runner in a rundown is obstructed.
d. A runner passes another runner.
e. An illegal pitch is declared.
f. A batter is struck by a pitch she swings at.
g. A runner interferes with a fielder who is in the act of fielding a batted ball.
h. The batter, in the batter’s box, intentionally interferes with the catcher who is attempting to make a play.

44. R2 is on 2nd base with one out and a 1-2 count on B3. B3 swings and misses the next pitch, but the pitch strikes B3. R2 advances safely to 3rd and B3 arrives at 1st. What are your calls? (3)
a. B3 remains at 1st base.
b. R2 remains at 3rd base.
c.  B3 is out on strikes.
d. The ball is dead.
e. R2 is returned to 2nd base.
f. The ball is live and in play.

45. B1 bats with a 3-2 count. As F1 begins her motion, B1 steps out of the batter’s box and F1 stops her deliver What are your calls? (2)
a. That’s an illegal pitch on F1.
b. That’s an automatic strike on B1.
c. The umpire will call “No pitch.”
d. No penalties are invoked and play will begin anew.

46. B1 is struck by a pitch, as she stands motionless while completely within the lines of the batter’s box. What are your calls? (2)
a. The ball is dead.
b. B1 is not awarded 1st base.
c. A “ball” is added to B1’s count.
d. B1 is awarded 1st base.

47. As F1 is about to start her delivery, right-handed batter B1 jumps across the plate to the left-handed batter’s box with the intent to bunt the ball. What are your calls? (2)
a. The ball is dead.
b. B1 is returned to the right-handed batter’s box and play begins anew.
c. B1 is declared out.
d. B1 is ejected from the game.
e. B1 is restricted to the dugout/bench for the remainder of the game.
f. No violation has occurred unless the pitcher releases the pitch.

48. R1 is on 1st base with no outs and a 1-1 count on B2. When R1 attempts to steal second, B2 swings and misses but stumbles over the plate and complicates F2’s throw to second. R1 is safe at second. What are your calls? (3)
a. B1’s actions are considered inadvertent and no infraction has occurred.
b. The ball is delayed dead.
c. The ball is immediately dead.
d. B2 is declared out.
e. R1 is declared out.
f. Catcher’s interference has occurred.
g. The offensive team is offered an option to take the result of the play or have the batter bat again.
h. R1 is returned to first.

49. R1 occupies 3rd base with one out as B3 bats with a 1-1 count. F1’s pitch is in the dirt for a ball and rolls away from F2 as R1 attempts to score. F2 recovers the ball but B3 interferes with F2 preventing her from tagging R1. What are your calls? (2)
a. B3 is declared out for interference.
b. R1 is declared out.
c. R1 is returned to 3rd base.
d. B3 remains at bat.
e. A ball is added to B3’s count.
f. A strike is added to B3’s count.

50. R2 occupies 2nd base as B3 bats with a 1-1 count. On the next pitch, R2 breaks for 3rd as B3 swings and misses but remains in the batter’s box. F2’s snap throw to 3rd strikes B3 and deflects into fair territory as R2 makes 3rd base easily. What are your calls? (2)
a. That is interference by B3.
b. The ball is immediately dead.
c. The ball is delayed dead.
d. R2 is declared out for B3’s interference.
e. B3 is declared out for interference.
f. R2 is returned to 2nd base.
g. The play stands and R2 remains on 3rd base.
h. B3 cannot be reasonably expected to instantaneously avoid F2’s throw while within the batter’s box.

51. R2 is on second when B1 hits a fair ball in front of the plate. B1’s bat and the batted ball touch in fair territory in front of the plate. What are your calls? (5)
a. If B1 is declared out for interference, R2 is awarded home.
b. B1 is not out and the ball is live if the ball rolls against the bat.
c. B1 is out and the ball is dead if b1’s bat strikes the ball.
d. If B1 is declared out for interference, R2 is returned to the base last touched at the time of the interference.
e. It’s a foul ball if an untouched batted ball rolls against the bat in fair territory and settles in foul territory.
f. It’s a fair ball if an untouched batted ball rolls against the bat in fair territory and settles in fair territory.
g. It’s a fair ball if an untouched batted ball rolls against the bat in fair territory and settles in foul territory.
h. If B1 is declared out for interference, R2 is awarded 3rd base.

52. The plate umpire notices that B1 steps into the batter’s box with an altered bat. What are your calls? (4)
a. The umpire will remove the altered bat from the game.
b. The umpire will wait for an appeal from the defensive team.
c. The umpire will declare B1 out.
d. The umpire will eject B1 from the game.
e. The umpire will eject the head coach from the game.
f. The umpire will declare a penalty strike on B1.
g. There is no penalty unless B1 hits the ball.

53. When an improper batter becomes a runner or is put out, all outs on the play stand if the defensive team properly appeals.
a. True
b. False

54. Following batter’s interference with the catcher, the batter is out and each runner must return to the last base touched at the time of the interferen
a. True
b. False

55. A batter shall not hit the ball fair or foul while either foot is touching the ground completely outside the lines of the batter’s box or while touching home plate.
a. True
b. False

56. The batter is out when the bat hits the ball a second time while the ball is on or over fair territory.
a. True
b. False

57. The correct batting order is Edwards, Frank, George, and Herman. It’s Edwards turn to bat but Frank erroneously bats and singles to right field. What are your calls? (2)
a. Upon proper appeal, Frank is declared out.
b. Upon proper appeal, Edwards is declared out.
c. Following the proper appeal, Frank is the next legal batter.
d. Following the proper appeal, Edwards is the next legal batter.
e. Following the proper appeal, George is the next legal batter.

58. B1 bats with a 3-2 count. After F1 releases the pitch, B1 steps out of the batter’s box. F1 completes her pitch that is not swung at by B1 and is not in the strike zone. What are your calls? (2)
a. The umpire will call the pitch a ball or strike as the case may be.
b. The umpire will call the pitch a strike.
c. B1 walks.
d. B1 is out on strikes.

59. With R1 on 2nd base and R2 on 1st and no outs, B3 hits a high pop up in the infield. As F6 settles comfortably under the ball, the umpire properly declares and signals an infield fly. F6 intentionally drops the ball and R1 and R2 attempting to advance are tagged by F6 and F4. What are your calls? (4)
a. B3 is out.
b. R1 is safe.
c. R1 is out.
d. R2 is out.
e. R2 is safe.
f. The ball is live.
g. The ball is dead.
h. F6 is ejected for unsporting conduct.

60. R2 is on 3rd and R3 is on 2nd with one out. With the suicide squeeze on, B4 bunts the ball near the 1st base foul line. B4 interferes with F3 and prevents F3 from making a play at the plate on R2. What are your calls? (4)
a. B4 is out.
b. R2 is out.
c. R2 is safe.
d. R2 is returned to 3rd base.
e. The ball is live.
f. The ball is dead.
g. R3 is awarded 3rd base.
h. R3 is returned to 2nd base.

61. The pitcher has the ball in the pitching circle. When does the pitcher have possession of the ball? (3)
a. The pitcher holds the ball between her knees or legs.
b. The pitcher has the ball in her glove on the ground.
c. The pitcher holds the ball under her chin.
d. The pitcher holds the ball under her arm.
e. The pitcher has the ball on the ground touching her foot.

62. Which of the following are true of a declared infield fly situation? (2)
a. The infield fly rule should be called immediately after the ball is batted to give both teams plenty of notice.
b. The infield fly rule should never be declared when an outfielder settles under a fly ball.
c. If a declared infield fly ball falls untouched to the ground and bounces fair before passing 1st or 3rd base, it is not an infield fly. The batter is not out and a fair ball is ruled.
d. If a runner interferes with a declared infield fly in fair territory, the ball is dead and only the runner is out.
e. If a declared infield fly is intentionally dropped by a fielder, the ball is live and in play.
f. Any runner(s) may tag up and advance on a declared infield fly after the caught fly ball is touched by a fielder.

63. With R3 on 3rd, F1’s ball four pitch deflects off F2’s glove and rolls into dead-ball area. What are your calls? (2)
a. B4 is awarded 2nd base; one base on ball four and one base on the award.
b. B4 is awarded 1st base.
c. R3 advances only if she is forced to advance.
d. R3 is awarded home.

64. R2 is on 2nd base with one out when B3 hits a ground ball to F5. The ball deflects off F5’s glove and is fielded by F6. With F6 in the baseline, R2 intentionally runs into F6 as she advances toward 3rd base. What’s your call? (2)
a. F6 has committed obstruction on R
b. R2 is out when she intentionally contacts F6.
c. The ball is always delayed dead.
d. The ball is dead.
e. The umpire will always rule both R2 and B3 out.

65. R1 occupies 1st base when B2 bats with no outs. R1 breaks for 2nd on the pitch when B2 hits a looping fly ball to right field. R1 holds up between 1st and 2nd to see if F9 can make the catch. Meanwhile, speedy B2 races around 1st base. With both R1 and B2 between 1st and 2nd, F9 fields the ball on a short hop and fires toward 1st base, but the throw deflects off F3’s glove and enters dead ball territory. What are your calls? (2)
a. R1 is awarded home.
b. R1 is awarded 3rd base.
c. R1 is awarded 2nd base.
d.  B2 is awarded 2nd base.
e.  B2 is awarded 3rd base.
f. A fielder may legally recover the ball unless it goes over the fence or into the dugout.

66. R1 occupies 1st base when B2 bats with no outs. B2 hits a looping fly ball to right field. R1 touches and passes 2nd base toward 3rd as speedy B2 slides in and touches 2nd base. With both R1 and B2 between 2nd and 3rd, F9 fields the ball on a short hop and fires toward 3rd base, but the throw deflects off F5’s glove and enters dead ball territory. What are your calls? (2)
a. R1 is awarded home.
b. R1 is awarded 3rd base.
c. R1 is awarded 2nd base.
d.  B2 is awarded 3rd base.
e.  B2 is awarded home.
f. A fielder may legally recover the ball unless it goes over the fence or into the dugout.

67. Right-handed batter B1 hits a fair line drive down the right field line just beyond 1st base. With the slicing ball rolling down the line well into foul territory, where a spectator picks up the ball. What are you calls? (2)
a. The ball is delayed dead.
b. The ball is immediately dead.
c. B1 is awarded two bases from the time of the pitch.
d. B1 is awarded two bases from the time of the interference.
e. The umpires will award B1 the bases that in their judgment B1 would have reached had the interference not occurred.

68. A baserunner is not out: (2)
a. When the runner is inadvertently struck by a fly ball while in contact with 2nd base.
b. When the runner is inadvertently struck by a fly ball while not in contact with 2nd base.
c. When the runner is inadvertently struck by a ground ball while in contact with 2nd bas
d. When the runner steps off 2nd base to avoid a fielder in the act of fielding a batted fly ball, but unintentionally interfere with the fielder, causing her to drop the ball.

69. R1 is on 2nd base and R2 is on 1st base with one out. B4 hits a declared infield fly over the infield. F6 intentionally drops the ball. R1 breaks for 3rd and is easily thrown out. What are your calls? (2)
a. The ball is dead when F6 drops the ball.
b. The out on R1 is nullified.
c. F6 is ejected fro m the game.
d. The play stands and the half inning is over.
e. The infield fly rule supersedes the intentionally dropped ball rule.

70. R1 occupies 1st base with B2 batting. F1’s drop pitch strikes F2’s glove and rolls slowly away from the plate. F2 uses her mask to scoop up the errant pitch as R1 stands motionless just off of 1st base and makes no attempt to advance. What are your calls? (2)
a. The ball is immediately dead when F2 scoops up the ball with her mask.
b. The ball is delayed-dead when F2 scoops up the ball with her mask.
c. R1 is awarded 3rd base.
d. R1 is awarded 2nd base.
e. Since no apparent play was obvious, R1 remains at 1st base.

71. With R1 on 1st and no outs, B2 lines a single to center field. R1 touches and passes 2nd when F8 fires the ball to F1, who is standing completely within the pitcher’s circle. What are your calls? (2)
a. R1 may continue to advance.
b. R1 may stop once and then go to 2nd or 3rd.
c. R1 may stop and return to 2nd, but if she keeps moving toward 3rd, she may not stop.
d. R1 must return to 2nd.

72. B1 swings and hits a ball straight down on home plate in fair territory. The ball rebounds straight up and again strikes B1’s bat in fair territory. At the time of the second contact B1 has both feet in the batter’s box. What are your calls? (2)
a. B1 is out for again hitting a fair ball in fair territory.
b. The ball is dead.
c. That is a foul ball.
d. The ball is live.

73. B1 swings at a legal pitch but her bat contact’s F2’s glove as she hits a fair ball. What are your calls? (4)
a. That is defined as catcher’s interference.
b. That is defined as catcher’s obstruction.
c. That’s batter’s interference because B1struck F2’s glove with her bat.
d. The ball is dead immediately.
e. The infraction is ignored if the batter and all runners advance at least one base on a batted ba
f. An option is offered to the coach of the offensive team if the batter or any other runner does not advance at least one base.
g. The plate umpire will call time and begin play anew.
h. The plate umpire will signal a delayed-dead ball.

74. R2 is on 2nd base with one out. B3 hits a ground ball near F5 that strikes R2 running for 3rd base. The play occurs in the infield and no outfielders are in position to field the ball. What are your calls? (4)
a. R2 is always automatically out for interference.
b. R2 is not out if struck by the ground ball after the ball passes F5 and no other fielder is in position to field the ball. The ball remains live.
c. R2 is out if the ball strikes R2 before the ball passes
d. If interference is called on R2, the ball is always immediately dead.
e. B3 is always awarded 1st base.
f. If interference is called on R2, B3 will bat again.
g. B3 is awarded 1st base if R2 is called out for interference.
h. If the ground ball is a routine play for F5, R2 and B3 are both out.

75. R1 is on 1st base when B2 hits a hard one-bounce smash to F3 in fair ground. R1 is standing on 1st base when F3 touches the bag. F3 then tags R1. What are your calls? (2)
a. Both R1 and B2 are out.
b. R1 is out.
c. B2 is out.
d. The following runner is out when tagged.
e. R1 is safe.

76. With one out, R2 occupies 2nd base as B3 bats with two strikes. B3 swings and misses for strike three but F2 drops the ball. Angry, B3 bolts for and enters the 1st base dugout as R2 runs toward 3rd base. F2 fires to F5 at 3rd base and R2 is tagged out. What are your calls? (3)
a. The ball is dead.
b. The ball is delayed-dead.
c. The ball is live.
d. B3 is out.
e. R2 is out.
f. R2 is returned to 2nd base.
g. R2 is awarded 3rd base.

77. R2 is on 3rd base with one out. B3 tops a batted ball in front of the plate where it’s fielded by F2. What are your calls? (2)
a. Interference cannot be called if F2 withholds her throw because of her concern that the throw might strike B3.
b. B3 is out if F2’s throw from fair territory strikes B3 in foul ground about 15 feet from 1st base.
c. Three-foot lane interference is always called if F3’s throw to home strikes B3 who is running completely in fair territory.
d. When three-foot lane interference occurs, the base umpire will signal a delayed-dead ball.
e. The plate umpire is primarily responsible for calling the three-foot lane interference.

78. B1 bats a ball in front of the plate. F2 fields the ball and starts to throw to F3 at 1st base. However, F2 withholds the throw because B1 is running completely in fair territory about 15 feet from 1st base. What’s your call? (2)
a. Three-foot lane interference should be called on B1.
b. The ball is delayed-dea
c. The ball remains live.
d. Because F2 did not throw to 1st, three-foot lane interference cannot be called.

79. R1 occupies 1st base with no outs when B2 bunts a fair ball in front of home plate. F2’s throw to 1st base strikes B2 in fair territory about 10 feet before 1st base. R1 has reached 2nd base when B2 is struck by F2’s throw. What are your calls? (3)
a. B2 is declared out for three-foot-lane interference.
b. The ball remains live.
c. The ball becomes dead.
d. R1 remains at 2nd base.
e. R1 is returned to 1st base.

80. With R1 on 3rd base and R3 on 1st base with one out, B4 lines a bullet toward F6. F6 skillfully uses her glove to guide the ball to the ground and then immediately executes a 6-4-3 double play to end the half inning.
What are your calls? (3)
a. The play stands.
b. The ball is dead when F6 guides it to the ground.
c. B4 is out.
d. R1 is out.
e.  R3 is out.
f. B4 is not out.
g. An intentionally dropped ball has occurred.
h. F6 is ejected for unsporting conduct.

81. B1 hits a single to center field and takes a wide turn around 1st base. As F6 takes the throw from F8 at 2nd base, B1 crashes into F3 about five feet from 1st base. What are your calls? (3)
a. Obstruction is called on F3.
b. B1 is guaranteed 2nd base.
c.  The ball is delayed-dea
d. B1 is protected to 1st base.
e. The umpire will issue a warning to F3 and her coach.
f. A subsequent violation by F3 results in a one-base award to the obstructed runner.

82. R3 is caught in a run down between 3rd base and the plate. As R3 is returning to 3rd base she is obstructed by F5 and tagged out by F6. What are your calls? (2)
a. The ball is dead when R3 is tagged.
b. The ball remains live.
c. R3 is awarded 3rd base.
d. R3 is awarded home.

83. B1 hits a single to center field. F8 throws the ball toward F4 as B1 rounds 1st base. As B1 slows down, B1 accidentally bumps into F3. What are your calls? (3)
a. Obstruction has occurred.
b. Interference has occurred.
c. The ball is immediately dead.
d. The ball is delayed-dea
e. B1 is protected to 1st base.
f. B1 is awarded 2nd base.
g. That is incidental contact.

84. Obstruction has occurred when a fielder impedes the progress of a runner: (4)
a. When the fielder is not in the act of fielding a batted ball.
b. When the fielder does not have the ball.
c. When the fielder is about to receive a thrown ball.
d. When the fielder is throwing the ball.
e. When faking a tag.

85. The home team shortstop fakes a tag on advancing R1. What are your calls? (3)
a. Obstruction should be called on a fake tag only if the runner stops, slides or slows down.
b. Faking a tag always results in an obstruction called.
c. It is a mandatory ejection if a fielder fakes a tag.
d. It is not a fake tag if a fielder simulates fielding a batted ball.
e. There are no rules prohibiting fake tags.
f. A subsequent fake tag by the same fielder may result in a one-base award to the obstructed runner.
g. After a fake tag, the umpire will issue a warning to the coach of the defensive tea

86. R1 is on 1st base with no outs. B2 hits a ground ball to F3. F3’s throw to the plate strikes B2 who is running completely in fair territory about 20 feet from 1st base. What are your calls? (2)
a. The ball is dead.
b. The ball is delayed-dead.
c. The ball is live.
d. R1 is out.
e. B2 is considered to have run out of the baseline.
f. R1 is out and B2 is also out if she was prevented from being put out by the actions of R1.
g. B2 has not violated any rule.
h. B2 can be called out on appeal.

87. When a runner passes an unobstructed preceding runner: (2)
a. The preceding runner is out immediately.
b. The following runner is out immediately.
c. The ball is dead.
d. The ball is delayed-dead. e. The ball is live.

88. About interference by a baserunner with a fielder: (3)
a. The runner must contact the fielder for interference to be called.
b. A runner who accidentally hinders a fielder has not interfere
c. Interference may be physical contact.
d. Interference may be a visual distraction.
e. Interference may be a verbal distraction.
f. Interference may never occur after a fielder deflects a batted ball.
g. Interference has occurred anytime a fair, batted ball in fair territory strikes a runner.

89. R1 is on 2nd and R2 is on 1st with no outs when B3 hits a pop up in the infield that a fielder can catch with ordinary effort. However, as F3 moves toward the ball, she stumbles and the untouched ball falls to the ground. The ball then bounces and strikes R2 before it passes an infielder. What are your calls? (4)
a. The umpires will invoke the infield fly rule.
b. B3 is out.
c. The ball is live and in play.
d. The ball is delayed-dea
e. The ball is immediately dead.
f. R2 is out.
g. The runner closest to home is out.

90. R1 is on 3rd and R2 is on 1st with no outs and B3 is at bat. B3 hits a hard ground ball to F6, who tosses to F4 at 2nd to force out R2, but R2 interferes with F4 attempting to throw to 1st base. What are your calls? (3)
a. R2 is out on the force out.
b. B3 is out for the interference by R
c. R1 is out for the interference by R2.
d. Only R2 is out for the interference.
e. The ball is delayed dead.
f. The ball is immediately dead.

91. R1 is on 1st base when B2 hits safely to right field. F9, with a strong arm, fires toward 3rd, but F6 cuts off the ball and misses an attempted tag on advancing R1. R1 touches 3rd, but believing she’s out, enters the dugout near 3rd base. F6 throws to F4 and B2 is caught between 1st and 2nd in a lengthy rundown and is finally tagged out. What are your calls? (2)
a. The ball is dead when R1 enters the team area.
b. R1 is declared out.
c. The out on B2 is nullified.
d. B2 is returned to 1st base.
e. The out on B2 stands.

92. R1 occupies 3rd base and R3 1st while F1 holds the ball within the pitcher’s circle. F1 then places her glove with the ball inside between her legs and R1 leads off 3rd base. Seeing R1’s actions, R3 leaves 1st base. What are your calls? (2)
a. The ball is dead immediately.
b. The ball remains live.
c. R1 is out.
d. R1 is in jeopardy of being put out.
e. R3 is out.
f. R3 is in jeopardy of being put out.
g. No baserunning violations have occurred.
h. The umpire will call an umpire’s time out and send R1 back to 3rd.

93. R1 is on 3rd base with no outs. B2 draws a walk and the ball is returned to F1 in the pitcher’s circle. What are your calls? (4)
a. B2 may attempt to advance to2nd base.
b. B2 may not attempt to advance if the ball is returned to F1 in the circle before B2 reaches 1st base.
c. The look-back rules does not take affect until B2 reaches 1st base.
d. R1 is out if she leaves 3rd while F1 is holding the ball in the circle and not making a play before B2 reaches 1st base.
e. R1 is out if she leaves 3rd while F1 is holding the ball in the circle and not making a play after B2 reaches 1st base.
f. The ball is immediately dead if R1 or B2 violates look-back rule.
g. The ball is live when R1 or B2 violates look-back rule.

94. R1 is on 3rd, R2 is on 2nd and R3 is on 1st with two outs. B6 lines a fair that hits R1 who is contacting 3rd base in fair territory. F5 is positioned about five feet behind the base line. What are your calls? (4)
a. R1 is out.
b. The ball is dead.
c. The half inning is over.
d. B6 is awarded 1st base.
e. R3 is awarded 2nd base.
f. The ball is live and in play.
g. R1 is removed from 3rd base without scoring.
h. R1 is awarded home.

95. R1 occupies 1st base with no outs when B2 hits a ground ball to F4. When F4 attempts to tag the advancing R1, but R1 returns safely to 1st base. F4 then fires to 1st to retire B2 but R1 maintained contact with 1st base. What are your calls? (3)
a. B2 is out.
b. R1 is out for running the bases in reverse order.
c. The ball is dead.
d. R1 committed a travesty of the game.
e. Play resumes with one out.
f. Play resumes with R1 on 1st base. g. R1 is ejected from the game.

96. R1 breaks for 2nd on the pitch as B3 tops a fair ball in front of the plate. F2 scrambles for the ball and fires to 1st but the throw deflects off the back of B3’s shoulder. B3 is declared out for three-foot-lane interference. At the time of the interference, R1 had arrived safely at 2nd base. What are your calls? (3)
a. The ball is delayed-dead.
b. The ball is immediately dead.
c. R1 is out.
d. B3 is out.
e. R1 remains on 2nd base.
f. R1 is returned to 1st base.
g. To have three-foot-lane interference, B3’s interference must be intentional.

97. No runs shall score: (2)
a. When all continuous action double play results in a third out to end the half inning.
b. On all third-out force-outs.
d. By all following runners when a preceding runner makes the third out of the half inning.
e. On all third outs.
f. When an appeal for leaving early results in the third out.

98. R1 is on 2nd and R2 is on 1st with one out. B4 hits an over-the-fence home run. However, R2 from 1st misses home. After B4 touches home, F2 properly appeals that R2 failed to touch home. What are your calls? (3)
a. R2 is declared out on F2’s appeal.
b. No runs score.
c. One run scores.
d.  Two runs score.
e. Three runs score.
f. B4’s run is nullified.
g. B4 is returned to 3rd base.
h. Play resumes with two outs.

99. The ball becomes dead immediately when… (6)
a. A batter is touched by a pitch at which she swings.
b. A baserunner intentionally removes her helmet while actively running the bases.
c. The batter-runner violates the three-foot-lane rule.
d. The catcher drops a tipped ball.
e. The pitcher commits and delivers an illegal pitch.
f. A runner leaves her base too soon on a pitch.
g. An infielder intentionally drops an infield fly.
h. Offensive interference occurs.

100. R2 is on 2nd base as B3 bats with a two-strike count. B3 starts her swing but tries to stop her swing, as the pitch is low and in the dirt. What are your calls? (3)
a. The plate umpire must ask for help on the swing if the catcher requests help.
b. The plate umpire should ask for help on the swing if the catcher requests help.
c. The plate umpire may ask the base umpire for help on the swing without a request from the catcher.
d. The batter can require the plate umpire to ask for help in reversing a strike call.
e. The ball is live and in play on a checked swing.
f. The base umpire should always agree with the plate umpire on check swing appeals.