2017 Study Guide

Instructions: There are 100 True/False and Multiple Response questions. You are to mark your answer(s) to the questions on the answer sheet. There will be more than one correct answer for the Multiple Choice questions.

The number of corrects answers will be in parenthesis after the question for multiple choice.

1. With R1 on first, B2 bunts a ball to F5 and both R1 and B2 advance safely. The defense protests the play before the next pitch because B2 batted with a Reebok Vector that has holes in the taper part of the bat. B2 is declared out and R1 is put back on first base.

a. True
b. False

2. The coach of the team at bat asks about the color of the pitcher’s glove. What are your calls? (2)

a. The pitcher may use a white glove.
b. The pitcher may not wear a grey glove.
c. The pitcher may not wear a pink glove.
d. The pitcher may wear a multicolored glove of approved colors.
e. The pitcher may not wear a batting glove under her regular glove.

3. B1 steps into the batter’s box with a Little League baseball bat. What are your calls? (3)

a. The bat is illegal.
b. The bat is legal.
c. The bat is removed from the game.
d. B1 is declared out.
e. B1 is ejected from the game.

4. In the second inning with team B2 at bat and one out, it is discovered that the pitching distance is incorrect. What are your calls? (2)

a. The distance will be corrected at the start of the next full inning.
b. The pitching distance will be corrected immediately and the game will continue.
c. Once a game has been started, there will be no penalty if an incorrect pitching distance is discovered.
d. The game will be forfeited to the visiting team.
e. The game will continue with the incorrect distance.

5. R2 occupies 2nd base when B3 singles to center. F8 fires to the plate as R2 attempts to score. F2 misses the tag and sliding R2 misses the plate. What are your calls? (3)

a. The plate umpire will hesitate and then declared R2 out for missing the plate.
b. The plate umpire will hesitate slightly and call and signal that R2 is safe.
c. The plate umpire will not make a call until the play has concluded.
d. The plate umpire will make a safe signal and call, “No tag.”
e. It is an appeal play if F2 dives and tags R2 before she touches home plate.
f. It is a legal play and R2 is out if F2 tags R2 before she touches the plate.
g. If no appeal is made and R2 enters the dugout, the plate umpire will declare R2 out for abandoning her efforts to run the bases.

6. Which of the following are appeal plays? (3)

a. R1, who legally left 1st base on a fly ball that is caught, is doubled off of 1st when F6 throws to F3 standing on 1st base before R1 retouches her original base.
b. On a play at the plate, F2 dives and tags sliding R1, who slid by the plate without touching it.
c. When F2 formally requests help on B1’s check swing.
d. Batting out of order.
e. A defensive coach asks the calling umpire to get help after a no-catch call.

7. With R1 on 1st, B2 bats with a 1-1 count. B2 squares in the box and holds her bat in a bunting position within the strike zone as the pitch passes the plate low and in the dirt. What are you calls? (2)

a. The pitch is called a ball.
b. The pitch is called a strike.
c. The ball is dead.
d. For a strike to be called, B1 must move her bat toward the ball.
e. To take a pitch, the bat must be withdrawn and pulled back and away from the ball.

8. B1 hits a ground ball to F6. F6’s thrown ball is stopped by F3 when F3 covers the ball with the pocket of her glove facing down on top of the ball before B1 touches 1st base. What are your calls? (2)

a. That is considered a trapped ball and not a catch and B1 is safe at 1st base.
b. To call B1 out, F3 must raise her glove off the ground to show control before B1 touches 1st base.
c. To call B1 out, F3 must raise her glove off the ground to show control before or after B1 touches 1st base.
d. B1 is out providing the fielder demonstrates control of the ball by turning her glove or mitt upward with the ball inside, even if such control is shown after B1 touches 1st base.
e. B1 is out if the umpire judge that F3 has secure possession of the ball.

9. B1, batting with a 0-1 count, hits a line drive that hits the pitcher’s plate and caroms into foul ground, where F2 recovers the ball and throws out B1 after she makes a wide turn at 1st. The startled plate umpire does not make a call and the base umpire calls B1 out. The offensive coach enters the field to question the call. What are your calls? (3)

a. The umpire crew must meet privately away from the coach and calmly discuss the play.
b. The out on B1 stands.
c. The ball is fair since it struck an object in fair territory.
d. It’s a foul ball.
e. B1 returns to bat with a 0-2 count.
f. The umpires may view a spectator’s video of the play.

10. A blocked ball occurs when: (3)

a. A live ball touches non-game personnel.
b. A live ball touches loose equipment that’s not part of the game.
c. A live ball touches a tree limb hanging over the playing field.
d. A live ball touches an umpire.

11. Which of these statements about a force out are true? (3)

a. Occurs when a base runner is out when doubled off her base after a caught fly.
b. Occurs when a runner is forced out at a base because the batter becomes a runner.
c. Cannot occur on a tag out.
d. Can occur on an appeal play.
e. Cannot be removed during the playing action.
f. Cannot occur after a legally caught fly ball.
g. Can occur after the defensive team puts out the batter-runner.

12. B1 bats with a 1-1 count. B1’s swings and contacts the ball, which goes directly to F2’s chest protector. The ball rebounds off the protector into the air where F1 catches the ball in fair territory. What are your calls? (3)

a. B1 is out the same as any other batted ball that is deflected from one fielder to another and is caught without  touching the ground.
b. That’s a foul tip and the ball is live.
c. Only F2 may complete the act of catching the ball for a foul tip.
d. That’s a foul ball.
e. B1 continues at bat with a 1-1 count.
f. B1 continues at bat with a 1-2 count.

13. B1 hits a ground ball to F6. B1 beats F6’s throw to 1st base but she completely misses the bag by stepping over the base before F3 catches the ball while touching the bag. What are your calls? (2)

a. B1 is out because the ball got to the base before B1 touches it.
b. B1 is safe because she beat the throw to 1st base and an umpire never points out a missed base.
c. F3 could have made a legal appeal of the missed base before B1 returned to the base.
d. The umpire will make no call or signal.

14. An illegally batted ball occurs: (2)

a. Any time the batter hits the ball a second time in fair territory.
b. When a batter hits a foul ball when at least one foot is completely outside the batter’s box when the ball is batted.
c. Only when a batter hits a fair ball while at least one foot is completely outside the batter’s box when the ball is batted.
d. When the batter bats a ball while her foot is touching the plate.
e. When the batter swings and misses and her backswing strikes the ball.

15. With R2 on 2nd, B3 bats with a 1-1 count. B3 squares in the box, takes a bunting position and holds her bat motionless in the strike zone as F1’s pitch passes high and out of the strike zone. What are your calls? (4)

a. That’s a ball.
b. That’s a strike.
c. It is considered a bunt attempt if B3 holds the bat in the strike zone.
d. It is considered a bunt attempt if B3 moves the bat toward the ball.
e. B3 must withdraw her bat and pull it backward and away from the ball to avoid being charged with an attempt to contact the ball.

16. Right-handed pitcher F1 pushes off the pitcher’s plate with her left foot and strides forward with her right foot while pitching to B1. What are your calls? (2)

a. The pitcher may use either foot as her pivot foot.
b. The pitcher’s pivot foot must be the right foot for a right-handed pitcher and the left foot for a left-handed pitcher.
c. F1 is charged with an illegal pitch.
d. There is no violation.

17. A state association may, on an individual basis, permit a player to participate while wearing a different style uniform for religious reasons.

a. True
b. False

18. Exposed undergarments are considered part of the official uniform and shall be black, white, gray or a solid school color.

a. True
b. False

19. A team may use the DP/FLEX option provided it is made known at the pre-game conference.

a. True
b. False

20. The role of the DP is terminated for the rest of the game when the FLEX bats.

a. True
b. False

21. When the DP/FLEX option is used, the lineup may be reduced to nine and then returned to 10 any number of times.

a. True
b. False

22. It is possible for the DP and the FLEX to play defense at the same time.

a. True
b. False

23. At the pregame conference, the home team tells the plate umpire that his/her FLEX is pitching and his DP will be playing first base when they go out on the field. The umpire tells the coach the player listed on the line-up card must play at first base for at least one batter in the first inning before the DP can move to first base.

a. True
b. False

24. It is possible for the DP and the FLEX to play offense at the same time.

a. True
b. False

25. A team’s second unreported substitution results in the offender and the head coach being restricted to the dugout/bench for the remainder of the game.

a. True
b. False

26. Following a conference and trailing by two runs late in the game, speedy R2 from 3rd base and slow-footed R3 from 2nd base switch positions on the bases. What are your calls? (3)

a. Each runner is declared out immediately when discovered.
b. Each runner is declared out upon proper appeal. R2, R3 and the head coach are ejected.
c. The head coach is immediately ejected when discovered.
d. The head coach could be ejected if the act was deemed unsporting. If not, the coach is restricted to the bench for the remainder of the game.
e. R2 and R3 are ejected immediately when discovered.
f. R2 and R3 could be ejected if the act was deemed unsporting by the umpire or issued a warning if the infraction is determined to be minor.
g. No specific rule provisions.

27. With R2 on 2nd and one out, B3 enters the batter’s box with an altered bat. Before a pitch is made, the opposing coach informs the plate umpire that she believes B3’s bat has been altered. What are your calls? (2)

a. There is no penalty but the umpire shall remove the bat from the game.
b. B3 is not out unless she hits a fair or foul ball.
c. Because the bat was intentionally altered, the game is forfeited to the offended team.
d. B3 is declared out.
e. B3 is ejected from the game.
f. For a first offense a team warning is issued. For a subsequent offense, the player is restricted to the dugout and the coach is ejected.

28. In the fourth inning, the coach of the defensive team informs the umpire that the FLEX player is batting for the DP. The FLEX has a count of two balls and two strikes but did not report to the umpire. What are your calls? (5)

a. The FLEX is disqualified from the game.
b. The FLEX is declared out.
c. The offensive team is issued a warning for the unreported substitute.
d. The next unreported substitute for the offending team is restricted to the bench-dugout for the remainder of the game.
e. The DP is considered to have left the game.
f. A legal substitute will be announced and assume the 2-2 count.
g. Any advance of runners while the unreported player was at bat is legal.
h. The FLEX is declared officially in the game.

29. With R1 on 2nd base with no outs, B2 hits for extra bases. While the ball is in the outfield, R1 maliciously crashes into F2 who is standing between 3rd base and home. R1 continues on and touches home plate. What are your calls?(3)

a. Declare the ball dead immediately.
b. Call R2 out.
c. Allow the run to score.
d. Eject R2 from the game.

30. R1 slides into second base on a double, but injures her ankle and is unable to continue the game. Team A has no available substitutes. What are your calls? (2)

a. The game is forfeited to team B if team A is unable to field nine players.
b. A team may play shorthanded unless a team member has been ejected from the game.
c. A team may play shorthanded for any reason.
d. R1 is declared out.
e. R1 is not out and the most recent batter not at a base may run for her.

31. The head coach tenders the lineup card that includes the DP/FLEX to the plate umpire at the pregame conference. The lineup card is verified by the coach and is accepted by the plate umpire. Moments later and before the game starts, the coach wants to start the game with 9 players and not use the DP/FLEX in the first inning and wishes to retain the right to go back to 10 players later in the game. What are your calls? (2)

a. That change is illegal at the pregame conference once the lineups are verified by the coach.
b. That change is only legal after the game starts.
c. The change is legal but the DP/FLEX is terminated for the remainder of the game.
d. The change is legal.
e. The DP/FLEX may be used later in the game.
f. Once a team goes to 9 players it may not return to 10 players.
g. Such a change is legal if both coaches agree.

32. If an illegal pitch is called and the batter does not reach first base safely or if any base runner fails to advance at least one base, the coach of the team at bat shall have the option of the result of the play or the penalty for an illegal pitch.

a. True
b. False

33. Prior to starting the delivery, the pitcher must take a position with both feet on or partially on the top surface of the pitcher’s plate.

a. True
b. False

34. Prior to pitching, the pitcher must take a position with the shoulders in line with first and third bases with the ball in the glove or pitching hand and with the hands separated.

a. True
b. False

35. While in the pitching position, the pitcher must take (or simulate taking) a signal from the catcher.

a. True
b. False

36. The pitcher is not considered in the pitching position until the catcher is within the catcher’s box and in position to receive the pitch.

a. True
b. False

37. The pitcher may legally remove herself from the pitcher’s plate before or after the hands come together by stepping back from the plate with both feet.

a. True
b. False

38. If the ball slips from the pitcher’s hand during the backswing or forward motion, it is a pitch and a ball is called on the batter unless the batter swings at a pitch that is hit able.

a. True
b. False

39. Left-handed F1 stands sideways on the pitching plate facing 1st base with her shoulders in line with 2nd base and home plate. F1’s pivot foot is in legal contact and within the 24-inch periphery of the pitcher’s plate and her non-pivot foot is directly behind her pivot foot and also in legal contact with the pitcher’s plate. F1 raises her non-pivot foot and then steps directly toward the plate to pitch o B1. What are your calls? (2)

a. That is a legal pitch.
b. The shoulders need not be in line with 1st and 3rd bases.
c. That’s an illegal pitch.
d. The shoulders must be in line with 1st and 3rd bases.

40. When does F1’s pitch technically begin? (2)

a. With the hands separated, the pitcher moves her hands to bring them together.
b. The instant the pitcher seperates her hands after bringing them together.
c. When the pitcher makes any motion that is part of the windup after the hands have been brought together.

41. The visiting coach asks about the home team’s pitcher’s feet in relation to the pitcher’s plate. What are your calls?(3)

a. Only one foot is required on the pitcher’s plate prior to delivery.
b. Two feet are required to be on or in contact with the pitcher’s plate prior to the delivery.
c. A backward step may be taken after the hands have been brought together.
d. A backward step may be taken before the hands have been brought together.
e. No backward step may be taken.
f. The backward step may end before or after the hands come together.

42. After the pitcher’s hands come together, she drops the ball at the start of her delivery. What are your calls? (3)

a. That is a no pitch.
b. A ball is awarded to the batter.
c. The ball is dead.
d. The ball is live.
e. Base runners may advance with the liability to be put out.
f. Baserunners may not advance.

43. F1 re-plants her pivot foot completely in front of the pitching plate and again pushes off toward home plate before releasing the pitch. What are your calls? (2)

a. The ball is immediately dead.
b. It is an illegal pitch.
c. That technique is known as a crow hop.
d. The pitch is legal if the pivot foot remains on the ground when the second push off is made.
e. The pitch is illegal only in the women’s and girls’ divisions.

44. The batter is out when the bat hits the ball a second time while the ball is on or over fair territory and the batter has left the batter’s box.

a. True
b. False

45. An on-deck batter may leave the circle to avoid interfering with the catcher’s opportunity to make an out.

a. True
b. False

46. B1 is struck by a pitch as she stands motionless while completely within the lines of the batter’s box. What are your calls? (3)

a. The ball is dead.
b. B1 is not awarded 1st base.
c. A “ball” is added to B1’s count.
d. B1 is awarded 1st base.
e. B1 may not intentionally try to get hit by the pitch.

47. B1 bats with a 3-2 count. As F1 begins her motion, B1 steps out of the batter’s box and F1 stops her delivery. What are your calls? (2)

a. That’s an illegal pitch on F1.
b. That’s an automatic strike on B1.
c. The umpire will call “No pitch.”
d. No penalties are invoked and play will begin anew.

48. R1 is on 3rd, R2 is on 2nd, and R3 is on 1st with two outs as B6 bats with a 3-2 count. As F1 releases the pitch, B6 appearing to requests time, steps out of the batter’s box and F2 catches the pitch. What are your calls? (2)

a. The umpire will call the pitch a ball or strike.
b. If the pitch is ruled a ball, B6 is awarded one base, all runners advance one base and R1 scores.
c. If the pitch is declared strike, B6 is out.
d. The pitch shall be called a strike.
e. The half-inning has ended.

49. As F1 is about to start her delivery, right-handed batter B1 jump across the plate to the left-handed batter’s box with the intent to bunt the ball. What are your calls? (2)

a. The ball is dead.
b. B1 is returned to the right-handed batter’s box and play begins anew.
c. B1 is declared out.
d. B1 is ejected from the game.
e. B1 is restricted to the dugout/bench for the remainder of the game.
f. No violation has occurred unless the pitch is released by the pitcher.

50. R1 occupies 3rd base with one out as B3 bats with a 1-1 count. F1’s pitch is in the dirt for a ball and rolls away from F2 as R1 attempts to score. F2 recovers the ball but B3 interferes with F2 preventing her from tagging R1. What are your calls? (2)

a. B3 is declared out for interference.
b. R1 is declared out.
c. R1 is returned to 3rd base.
d. B3 remains at bat.
e. A ball is added to B1’s count.
f. A strike is added to B1’s count.

51. R1 is on 1st base with one out and a 1-1 count on B3. R1 breaks with the pitch as B3 swings and tips the ball sharply and directly into F2’s glove. R1 is safe at 2nd base. What are your calls? (4)

a. That’s a foul ball.
b. R1 must return to 1st base.
c. B3 continues to bat with a 1-2 count.
d. R1 will remain on 2nd base.
e. R1 may advance without tagging up.
f. A foul tip has occurred.

52. The batting order reads: Abel, Baker, Charles, Daniels, Edwards, etc. With no outs, it’s Abel’s turn to bat but Charles erroneously bats and hits a double. Abel and Baker both strike out. It’s Charles’s turn to bat, but the defensive team informs the plate umpire that Charles in on 2nd base. What are your calls? (2)

a. Charles is out.
b. Abel and Baker remain out
c. Charles is removed from2nd base and is brought in to bat
d. Charles remains on 2nd base and the proper batter is Daniels.

53. B1 swings and hits a ball straight down on home plate in fair territory. The ball rebound straight up and again strikes B1’s bat in fair territory. At the time of the second contact B1 has both feet in the batter’s box. What are your calls?(2)

a. B1 is out for again hitting a fair ball in fair territory.
b. The ball is dead.
c. That is a foul ball.
d. The ball is live.

54. R2 is on second when B1 hits a fair ball in front of the plate. B1’s bat and the batted ball touch in fair territory in front of the plate. What are your calls? (5)

a. B1 is not out unless B1 intentionally contacts the ball a second time with her bat.
b. B1 is not out and the ball is live if the ball rolls against the bat.
c. B1 is out and the ball is dead if B1’s bat strikes the ball.
d. When B1 is declared out for interference, R2 is always returned to second base.
e. It’s a foul ball if an untouched batted ball rolls against the bat in fair territory and settles in foul territory.
f. It’s a fair ball if an untouched batted ball rolls against the bat in fair territory and settles in fair territory.

55. R1 is on first base with no outs and a 1-1 count on B2. When R1 attempts to steal second, B2 swings and misses but stumbles over the plate and complicates F2’s throw to second. R1 is safe at second. What are your calls? (3)

a. B1’s actions are considered inadvertent and no infraction has occurred.
b. The ball is delayed dead.
c. The ball is immediately dead.
d. B2 is declared out.
e. R1 is declared out.
f. Catcher’s interference has occurred.
g. The offensive team is offered an option to take the result of the play or have the batter bat again.
h. R1 is returned to first.

56. R1 is on 3rd base, R2 is on 2nd base and R3 is on 1st base with no outs. It’s B4’s turn to bat but B5 erroneously bats. B5 hits a ground ball to F6 who turns a 6-4-3 double play with R3 out at 2nd and B5 at 1st. The defensive team appeals batting out of order. What are your calls? (7)

a. The out on R3 stands.
b. B4 is out for failing to bat in the proper order.
c. R2 is returned to 2nd.
d. B5 is removed from base.
e. Play resumes with two outs.
f. All runs score on the play.
g. R1 is returned to 3rd base.
h. The proper batter is B5.

57. The ball is dead immediately when: (4)

a. While running to 1st, B1 stops to delay or avoid a tag.
b. The batter interferes with the catcher by stepping out of the batter’s box.
c. A runner in a rundown is obstructed.
d. A runner passes another runner.
e. An illegal pitch is declared
f. A batter is struck by a pitch she strikes at.
g. A runner interferes with a fielder who is in the act of fielding a batted ball.
h. The batter, in the batter’s box, intentionally interferes with the catcher who is attempting a play.

58. A dead ball is called if an obstructed runner is tagged out between the two bases where the obstruction occurred.

a. True
b. False

59. The plate umpire notices that B1 steps into the batter’s box with an altered bat. What are your calls? (3)

a. The umpire will remove the altered bat from the game.
b. The umpire will wait for an appeal from the defensive team.
c. The umpire will declare B1 out.
d. The umpire will eject B1 from the game.
e. The umpire will eject the head coach from the game.
f. The umpire will declare a penalty strike on B1.
g. There is no penalty unless B1 hits the ball.

60. R2 is on 2nd base with one out and a 1-2 count on B3. B3 swings and misses the next pitch, but the pitch strikes B3. R2 advances safely to 3rd and B3 arrives at 1st. What are your calls? (3)

a. B3 remains at 1st base.
b. R2 remains at 3rd base.
c. B3 is out on strikes.
d. The ball is dead.
e. R2 is returned to 2nd base.
f. The ball is live and in play.

61. While the pitcher has the ball within the 16-foot circle, a batter-runner who rounds first base toward second base may stop, but then must immediately return to first or attempt to advance non-stop to second base.

a. True
b. False

62. The ball becomes dead immediately when… (6)

a. A batter is touched by a pitch at which she swings.
b. A baserunner intentionally removes her helmet while actively running the bases.
c. The batter-runner violates the three-foot-lane rule.
d. The catcher drops a tipped ball.
e. The pitcher commits and delivers an illegal pitch.
f. A runner leaves her base too soon on a pitch.
g. An infielder intentionally drops an infield fly.
h. Offensive interference occurs.

63. R1 is on 3rd base and R2 is on 1st with not outs as B3 bats with a 1-1 count. B3 hits a fly foul ball near the third-base foul line about 10 feet on the plate side of 3rd base and about 4 feet foul. As F5 settles comfortably under the ball, R1 inadvertently bumps into F5 and the ball drops. What are your calls? (4)

a. The ball is dead.
b. R1 is called out for interference.
c. R1 is called out for interference only if R1 physically contacts F5.
d. R2 is declared out for her teammate’s interference.
e. B3 is declared out.
f. Because R1 did not intentionally interfere with the foul fly ball, R1 is not out.
g. A foul ball is charged to B3.
h. B3 continues to bat with a 1-2 count.

64. R1 is on 3rd and R2 is on 1st with no outs and B3 is at bat. B3 hits a hard ground ball to F6, who tosses to F4 at 2nd to force out R2, but R2 interferes with F4 attempting to throw to 1st base. What are your calls? (3)

a. R2 is out on the force out.
b. B3 is out for the interference by R2.
c. R1 is out for the interference by R2.
d. Only R2 is out for the interference.
e. The ball is delayed dead.
f. The ball is immediately dead.

65. R1 occupies 1st base with no outs. R1 legally breaks for 2nd base as B2 hits a looping fly ball to right-center field. F6 moves to her left to simulate fielding a ground a ball and R1 races beyond 2nd towards 3rd. F9 makes an outstanding running catch and guns R1 out at 1st base. What are your calls? (3)

a. F6 is charged with obstruction.
b. F6 can be ejected from the game if her actions cause an injury.
c. The umpire will rule to nullify the obstruction.
d. The ball is live.
e. The ball is delayed-dead.
f. The ball is dead.
g. The play stands.
h. Play resumes with one out.

66. R2 occupies 2nd base with one out when B3 smashes a one-hopper off F1’s right leg as the ball directly deflects toward F6 in the baseline between 2nd and 3rd. In running for 3rd, R2 tries but is unable to avoid F6 who is playing the deflected ball and inadvertently knocks her to the ground. R2 reaches 3rd base safely and B3 easily makes 1st base. What are your calls? (2)

a. R2 is out because the batted ball was deflected off of F1.
b. The ball is dead.
c. Both R2 and B3 are out because F6 was fielding the ball in the baseline.
d. R2 is not out since her contact with F6 was not intentional.
e. The ball is delayed-dead until all playing action ceases.
f. The ball remains live.

67. R1 is on 3rd base and R2 is on 1st base with one out when B3 hits a fly ball that’s caught by F9. R1 legally tags up at 3rd and touches home while R2 from 1st doesn’t tag up and is more than halfway between 1st and 2nd. R2 is retired returning to 1st base after R1 scores. What are your calls? (4)

a. That is an appeal play on R2.
b. The out on R2 stands.
c. R1’s run does not ocunt
d. The third out on R2 is a force out.
e. R1’s run counts.
f. Runs are automatically canceled on all continuous action double plays.
g. That is a time play situation.

68. R1 is on 2nd and R2 is on 1st with no outs when B3 hits a pop up in the infield that a fielder can catch with ordinary effort. However, as F3 moves toward the ball, she stumbles and the untouched ball falls to the ground. The ball then bounces and strikes R2 before it passes an infielder. What are your calls? (4)

a. The umpires will invoke the infield fly rule.
b. B3 is out.
c. The ball is live and in play.
d. The ball is delayed-dead.
e. The ball is immediately dead.
f. R2 is out.
g. The runner closest to home is out.

69. R1 occupies 1st base with no outs when B2 bunts a fair ball in front of home plate. F2’s throw to 1st base strikes B2 in fair territory about 10 feet before 1st base. R1 has reached 2nd base when B2 is struck by F2’s throw. What are your calls? (3)

a. B2 is declared out for three-foot-lane interference.
b. The ball remains live.
c. The ball becomes dead.
d. R1 remains at 2nd base.
e. R1 is returned to 1st base.

70. With R1 on 3rd base and R3 on 1st base with one out, B4 lines a bullet toward F6. F6 skillfully uses her glove to guide the ball to the ground and then immediately executes a 6-4-3 double play to end the half inning. What are your calls? (3)

a. The play stands.
b. The ball is dead when F6 guides it to the ground.
c. B4 is out.
d. R1 is out.
e. R3 is out.
f. B4 is not out.
g. An intentionally dropped ball has occurred.
h. F6 is ejected for unsporting conduct.

71. R1 is on 1st base when B2 hits a hard one-bounce smash to F3 in fair ground. R1 is standing on 1st base when F3 touches the bag. F3 then tags R1. What are your calls? (2)

a. Both R1 and B2 are out.
b. R1 is out
c. B2 is out.
d. The following runner is out when tagged.
e. R1 is safe.

72. With R3 on 3rd, F1 pitches for ball four, which deflects off F2’s glove and rolls into dead-ball area. What are your calls? (2)

a. B4 is awarded 2nd base; one base on ball four and one base on the award.
b. B4 is awarded 1st base.
c. R3 advances only if she is forced to advance.
d. R3 is awarded home.

73. B1 hits a single to right field and takes a wide turn at 1st base. F9 fires wildly behind a returning B1 before she reaches 1st base. The ball goes inside the dugout but rebounds onto the playing field. What are your calls (2)?

a. The ball is dead.
b. The ball is live.
c. B1 is awarded 2nd base.
d. B1 is awarded 3rd base.

74. R2 is on 2nd with one out when B3 hits a ground ball to F5. The ball deflects off F5’s glove and is fielded by F6. With F6 in the baseline, R2 intentionally runs into F6 as she advances toward 3rd base. What are your calls? (2)

a. F6 has committed obstruction on R2.
b. R2 is out when she intentionally contacted F6.
c. The ball is always delayed-dead.
d. The ball is dead.
e. The umpire will always rule both R2 and B3 out.

75. With one out, R2 occupies 2nd base as B3 bats with two strikes. B3 swings and misses for strike three but F2 drops the ball. Angry, B3 bolts for and enters the 1st base dugout as R2 runs toward 3rd base. F2 fires to F5 at 3rd base and R2 is tagged out. What are your calls? (3)

a. The ball is dead.
b. The ball is delayed-dead.
c. The ball is live.
d. B3 is out.
e. R2 is out.
f. R2 is returned to 2nd base.
g. R2 is awarded 3rd base.

76. The ball is live and in play when: (3)

a. A confused runner runs back toward a previous base
b. A runner passes a preceding runner
c. A runner illegally runs out of the baseline
d. The batter runner steps back toward home to delay or avoid a tag

77. It is an infield fly when: (3)

a. With two outs and runner on 1st and 2nd, B5 hits a fly ball in the infield that can be caught by an infielder with ordinary effort.
b. A properly declared infield fly bounces untouched on fair ground and settles in foul territory before touching 1st base or 3rd base.
c. A properly declared infield fly bounces untouched in foul territory and settles in fair territory before touching 1st base or 3rd base.
d. An infielder intentionally drops a properly declared infield fly that results in two baserunners being tagged out.
e. R1 from 2nd base interferes with F6 and prevents her from catching the ball.

78. R2 is on 2nd base as B3 hits a ball to F6. R2 is running for 3rd as F6 approaches the ball and R2 stops in front of F6, screening her from the ball. F6 misplays the ball. What are your calls? (3)

a. That’s interference on R2.
b. The ball is immediately dead.
c. The ball is delayed–dead
d. R2 is out for visually distracting F6.
e. The base umpire should look toward the plate umpire for help on the play.

79. R2 is on 2nd base with two outs when B4 hits a ground ball toward F6. R2 is running naturally and straight for 3rd base as F6 approaches the ball and R2 jumps over the ball about three feet in front of the fielder to avoid being struck. F6 misses the ball. What are your calls? (2)

a. Interference should be called immediately on R2
b. In the absence of an unexpected overt act by R2, interference has not occurred.
c. The base umpire should declared both R2 and B3 out.
d. The base umpire should give a safe signal to communicate that no violation has occurred.
e. The ball is immediately dead.

80. R2 is on 2nd base as B3 hits ground ball toward F6 who is playing deep. R2 is running straight for 3rd. With R2 in the baseline about 10 feet to her left and concerned about a possible collision, F6 stops about 10 feet behind the baseline and then fields the ball after R2 passes. F6 is unable to retire either runner. What are your calls? (2)

a. That’s interference on R2.
b. The ball is immediately dead.
c. The ball is delayed-dead.
d. R2 is out for visually distracting F6.
e. Interference did not occur because F6 aborted her attempt to field the batted ball.
f. The base umpire should give a safe signal to communicate that no violation occurred.

81. R1 is on 1st base when B2 hits safely to right field. F9, with a strong arm, fires toward 3rd, but F6 cuts off the ball and misses an attempted tag on advancing R1. R1 touches 3rd, but believing she’s out, enters the dugout near 3rd base. F6 throws to F4 and B2 is caught between 1st and 2nd in a lengthy rundown and is finally tagged out. What are your calls? (2)

a. The ball is dead when R1 enters the team area.
b. R1 is declared out.
c. The out on B2 is nullified.
d. B2 is returned to 1st base.
e. The out on B2 stands.

82. R1 is on 3rd base and R2 is on 1st with no outs. B3 hits a high fly ball to left field that’s caught by F7. R1 moves several steps behind 3rd base to get a running start toward home plate and times her touching of 3rd to coincide with F7’s catch. R2 legally leaves 1st base and advances to 2nd base. What are your calls? (2)

a. Legal, that’s smart baserunning by R1
b. R1 is declared out by the umpire when R1’s act occurred
c. R2 is returned to 1st base
d. R2 remains on 2nd base

83. R1 is on 2nd base and R2 is on 1st base with no outs. What are your calls? (5)

a. An infield fly can be called any time first base is occupied with fewer than two outs.
b. A bunt can be an infield fly if batted high into the air.
c. A looping fly about ten feet above the ground that goes directly to F6 is an infield fly.
d. The ball is live if an infield fly drops and remains on fair ground.
e. The ball is dead if R1 interferes with F6 who is fielding the ball.
f. R1 and B3 are out if R1 interferes with F6 who is fielding the ball.
g. A line drive cannot be declared an infield fly.

84. B1 swings at a legal pitch but her bat contact’s F2’s glove as she hits a fair ball. What are your calls? (4)

a. That is defined as catcher’s interference.
b. That is defined as catcher’s obstruction.
c. That’s batter’s interference because B1struck F2’s glove with her bat.
d. The ball is dead immediately.
e. The infraction is ignored if the batter and all runners advance at least one base on a batted ball.
f. An option is offered to the manager-coach of the offensive team if the batter or any other runner does not advance at least one base
g. The plate umpire will call time and begin play anew
h. The plate umpire will signal a delayed-dead ball

85. R3 is caught in a run down between 3rd base and home. R3 is three steps from reaching 3rd base when she runs into F5 who does not have the ball. R3 is then tagged while off the base by F2. What are your calls? (4)

a. Obstruction has occurred.
b. R3 is declared out for running into F5.
c. The ball is delayed dead when the obstruction occurs.
d. The ball is dead when R3 is tagged.
e. The ball is dead when R3 runs into F5.
f. R3 is awarded 3rd base.
g. R3 is awarded home.

86. Obstruction has occurred when a fielder impedes the progress of a runner: (4)

a. When the fielder is not in the act of fielding a batted ball
b. When the fielder does not have the ball
c. When the fielder is about to receive a thrown ball
d. When the fielder is throwing the ball
e. By faking a tag

87. R2 is on 2nd base with one out when B3 hits safely to left field. F7 throws to F2 who fields the ball in a crouched position about five feet to the left of home plate near the 3rd base foul line. R2 avoids F2’s tag by hurdling over F2 and landing on the plate. What’s your call? (3)

a. R2’s act is legal
b. R2 is out for hurdling over F2
c. The ball remains live unless interference is called
d. R2’s run counts
e. R2 is ejected from the game
f. A team warning about hurdling is issued to R2’s team
g. The ball is always live and in play
h. R2’s run does not count

88. About interference by a baserunner with a fielder: (3)

a. The runner must contact the fielder for interference to be called
b. A runner who accidentally hinders a fielder has not interfered
c. Interference may be physical contact
d. Interference may be a visual distraction
e. Interference may be a verbal distraction
f. Interference may never occur after a batted ball is deflected by a fielder
g. Interference has occurred anytime a runner is struck by a fair, batted ball in fair territory

89. R1 is on 1st base with two outs and a 1-2 count on B4. The pitch bounces in front of the plate and B4 swings and hits the ball sharply and directly to F2’s glove. The ball deflects off F2’s chest protector and F2 then firmly grasps the ball. B4 bolts and is safe at 1st without a play while R1 goes to 2nd. What are your calls? (3)

a. That is a third strike on B4.
b. That’s a foul ball.
c. B4 is out.
d. B4 and R1 is safe.
e. The ball is live.
f. The ball is dead.

90. Regarding when a runner can leave her base: (2)

a. The runner may legally leave her base when the pitcher’s non-pivot foot passes the front edge of the pitchers plate.
b. The runner may legally leave her base when the pitch leaves the pitchers hand.
c. The runner may legally leave her base when the pitched ball touches the ground.
d. If a runner violates the rule by leaving too soon on a pitch, the ball is immediately dead.
e. If a runner violates the rules by leaving too soon on a pitch, the ball is delayed-dead.

91. R1 occupies 3rd base and R3 1st while F1 holds the ball within the pitcher’s circle. F1 then places her glove with the ball inside between her legs and R1 leads off 3rd base. Seeing R1’s actions, R3 leaves 1st base. What are your calls?(2)

a. The ball is dad immediately.
b. The ball remains live.
c. R1 is out.
d. R1 is in jeopardy of being put out.
e. R3 is out.
f. R3 is in jeopardy of being put out.
g. No baserunning violations have occurred.
h. The umpire will call an umpire’s time out and send R1 back to 3rd.

92. R1 is on 3rd base with no outs. B2 draws a walk and the ball is returned to F1 in the pitcher’s circle. What are your calls? (4)

a. B2 may attempt to advance to2nd base.
b. B2 may not attempt to advance if the ball is returned to F1 in the circle before B2 reaches 1st base.
c. The look-back rules does not take affect until B2 reaches 1st base.
d. R1 is out if she leaves 3rd while F1 is holding the ball in the circle and not making a play before B2 reaches 1st base.
e. R1 is out if she leaves 3rd while F1 is holding the ball in the circle and not making a play after B2 reaches 1st base.
f. The ball is immediately dead if R1 or B2 violates the circle rule.
g. The ball is live when R1 or B2 violates the circle rule.

93. B2 hits a hard ground ball that deflects off F1 and strikes R1, who is running for 2nd base. R1 is unable to avoid the ball and F4 is in position to field it. What are your calls? (2)

a. R1 is not out since she could not avoid being struck.
b. R1 is out since F4 had a play on the ball.
c. The ball is dead when it strikes R1.
d. The remains live and in play,

94. R2 is standing on 2nd base when a fair-batted ball strikes her. What are your calls? (4)

a. R2 is not out unless she intentionally interferes with the play.
b. R2 is out.
c. R2 is not out if she is struck by an infield fly.
d. The ball is dead.
e. The ball remains live and in play.
f. The ball is dead if the ball has not passed the fielder nearest the base.
g. The ball is live if it has passed the fielder nearest the base.

95. B2 hits a hard ground ball to F4. R1, from 1st base, unintentionally hinders F4 during the play. What are your calls?(2)

a. R1 is out
b. The ball is dead.
c. The ball remains live and in play.
d. If in the umpire’s judgment, a double play was prevented, both R1 and B2 are out.

96. R1 is on 1st base with no outs when B1 hits a ground ball to F4. When F4 attempts to tag advancing R1, R1 retreats toward 1st base. F4 then fires to 1st to retire B1 but R1 maintained contact with the base. What are your calls? (3)

a. B1 is out.
b. R1 is out for running the bases in reverse order.
c. The ball i s dead.
d. R1 committed a travesty of the game.
e. Play resumes with one out.
f. Play resumes with R1 on 1st base.
g. R1 is ejected from the game.

97. R1 is on 3rd base with no outs when B2 hits a fly ball to F9. Before F9 catches the ball, F5 yells, “GO” and R3 leaves early and scores. The defensive team then appeals that R3 left early. What’ your calls? (2)

a. R3’s run scores.
b. F5 is charged with obstruction.
c. R3’s run is nullified.
d. F5 is ejected from the game.
e. There is no rule or interpretation to prevent “verbal obstruction” from occurring.

98. R1 is on 2nd and R2 is on 1st with two outs. B4 hits an over-the-fence home run. However, R2 from 1st misses home. After B4 touches home, F2 properly appeals that R2 failed to touch home. What are your calls? (4)

a. R2 is declared out on F2’s appeal.
b. No runs score.
c. One run scores.
d. Two runs score.
e. Three runs score.
f. B4’s run is nullified.
g. The half-inning is over.
h. Play resumes with two outs.

99. No runs shall score: (3)

a. When all continuous action double play results in a third out to end the half inning.
b. On all third-out force outs.
c. On any third out that occurs before the batter-runner touches 1st base.
d. By all following runners when a preceding runner makes the third out of the half inning.

100. R2 is on 2nd base as B3 bats with a two-strike count. B3 starts her swing but tries to stop her swing as the pitch is low and in the dirt. What are your calls? (3)

a. The plate umpire must ask for help on the swing if the catcher requests help.
b. The plate umpire should ask for help on the swing if the catcher requests help.
c. The plate umpire may ask the base umpire for help on the swing without a request from the catcher.
d. The batter may ask the plate umpire to ask for help in reversing a strike call.
e. The ball is live and in play on a checked swing.
f. The base umpire should always agree with the plate umpire on check swing appeals.

Most Popular:

Upcoming Events

No event found!